Even this was hard…

IMG-20130916-00237So im writing this with one hand and swinging the computer chair to and fro. Why you might ask? Well as i stretch over to the shift key to try and get a question mark in here, i ponder this very thing. Could it be that i have a hungry shark gnawing on my nipple? Cue – enter the toddler with a mirror he is using as a bat! Shark wakes up and begins to endlessly smile at me as if I really am now in the mood for bonding. Sigh, all in a days work I guess. Of course the rugby is on so one can definitely not expect the husband to manage the kids whilst you selflessly or selfishly pursue your writing dream! I mean surely not?

And this is how it goes, being a parent I mean. Slug another glass of wine, red and semi sweet. Mmm, I can see a few raised eyebrows. But i am not super mom, in fact i cant – wait toddler just shot ball across room and knocked over wine glass – as i was saying, cant even be bothered to ensure that all my letter ‘i’s are in capitals. And toddler pulls out draw with all the files in and then motions that his finger is now officially sore even though the drawer never touched it. What time is bed? Not that that matters, sleepless nights are in order with a toddler and baby.

Shout out to any mother who is feeling this vibe right now! Raise your glasses or half glasses of red wine in a salute to yourself and remember, you are not alone! Somebody out there too is having an evening just like yours. “Cheers mommy” says my toddler. Good grief, and these are the good years!

Leave a comment